Representing quality private education
providers in Australia

Board of Directors

ACPET is owned and governed by its members. It is an incorporated, not-for-profit company administered by a Board.  The ACPET Board comprises eight positions elected by the membership. The ACPET Board elects a Chair and the Deputy Chair annually.


Bruce Callaghan

National Chair

Director representing New South Wales (since 2015)

Bruce is Chief Executive of BCA National Training Group (BCA National), a registered training organisation (RTO) that is an approved delegate of the Australian Skills Quality Authority. 

Prior to establishing BCA National, Bruce led a consultancy practice specialising in board development, board governance, business management, project management and strategic planning for over 30 years. He has also held senior posts in government and lectured at university in public administration, business ethics and political philosophy.

Alexis Watt

Deupty Chair 

Director representing South Australia (since 2016)

Alexis is the CEO of Silver Chain Training & RDNS Training, a private RTO specialising in the nursing, health, aged care and community services sectors. Focused on delivering the best quality nursing graduates to Australia’s health industry, the

 RTO operates campuses in SA and WA along with a strong online presence. With over 15 years’ experience in VET, including leadership of a dual-sector HEP and CRICOS provider, Alexis holds positions on various Boards, Committees and Councils at state and national levels.


Robyn Adams

Director representing Western Australia (since 2016) 

Robyn is currently Senior Operations Officer, Governance and Assurance at the University of Notre Dame Australia and has had over 25 years’ experiencein the tertiary education sector. Her experience includes as Special Advisor at the Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency (TEQSA), 

where she was also part of the Establishment Team for the Agency, senior management positions at RMIT University and Curtin University, and Audit Director at the (former) Australian University Quality Agency (AUQA). 

Robyn is a member of the TEQSA Register of Experts and has provided higher education consultancy services to private and public providers in Australia and overseas, has been an Evaluator for SAI Global’s Business Excellence Awards, and has undertaken Higher Education development work for AusAID.


Tony Kennedy

Director representing Tasmania (since 2016)

Tony is the Chief Executive Officer of Industrylink Training, a private RTO which has specialised in Hospitality and Tourism since 2005, and is based in Hobart, Tasmania.

Industrylink has won numerous State and National awards for their innovative training techniques, and continue to meet the ever increasing needs of their growing industry.

Tony has been the owner and operator of various businesses in the Hospitality and Tourism sector prior to his involvement in Vocational Education and Training.
Over the years  he has continually held various roles on industry boards, committees and advisory groups.

Andrew Shea

Director representing Victoria (since 2017)

Andrew is the Chief Executive Officer of House of Learning Pty. Ltd. t/a Builders Academy Australia which delivers qualifications in Building and Construction and related industries across 4 Australian States. Builders Academy Australia is part of the Simonds Group with includes Simonds Homes, Australia's 4th largest builder of detached housing.

Through Andrew’s role as part of the executive team of the Simonds Group he has gained a deep understanding of current and future workforce learning and development requirements within a large National employer.

Over the past 12 years Andrew has held Senior Management and Executive level positions across a range of training providers delivering across diverse cohorts including to domestic students, onshore to international students and offshore to international students.

Kathryn Stenson 

Director representing Northern Territory (since 2017)

Kathryn has over 25 years’ experience in the Vocational Training and Education sector. Kathryn is an AICD graduate and currently the CEO of Top End Group Training Pty ltd and Chairman of the Australian Skills Institute Pty Ltd.

Kathryn currently sits on various Board and is committed to applying business principals to Vocational and Higher Education. Kathryn believes that by creating greater industry linkages between Education and Training Institutions and industry, students will be educated for employability and better prepared to meet the global skills market.

Kathryn was recognised as an award winner of the 2013 Telstra Business Woman’s Award in Community and Government and is passionate about strengthening and growing the capability and responsiveness of the employment and education training sectors in ways that improve sustainability and equity outcomes.

Jo Mithen

Board Appointed Director (since 2017) 

As a Monash University alumna, Jo is a proud advocate of the power of an excellent education and the opportunities it provides.

She joined Monash College in 2008 as Chief Executive Officer. Having worked at senior levels with universities for more than 15 years, her expertise lies in her ability to recognise market trends and affect change.

Under her leadership, the company has tripled student enrolments and strengthened the quality of graduates entering the University.

She is passionate about people and has focused her career on transforming business and culture. As a leader, she values accountability, fosters innovation and inspires excellence.
Jo's international experience provides a deep understanding of issues facing education and markets around the world. During her six years as CEO at the Australian Human Resources Institute (AHRI), she represented Asia on the World Federation of Personnel Management Association Board. Since then, she has continually travelled and conducted business outside of Australia, particularly across Asia.

Christopher Campbell

Board Appointed Director (since 2017)

Christopher is Group Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of Academies Australasia, a position he has held since 1996.

He was previously on the ACPET NSW Committee and the ACPET International Committee. Christopher is also on the Board of Asia Society Australia. Academies Australasia has been operating for more than 100 years and listed on the Australian Securities Exchange for 40 years. It is comprised of 18 separately licensed education providers, operating in all states as well as Singapore – offering more than 250 qualifications.


Wilhelm Harnisch

Board Appointed Director (since 2017)



ACPET | Members Login | Search | Legal